MLB News: Which countries are participating in the Caribbean Baseball Series?

The 2023 Caribbean Series will be played in Venezuela from Thursday with a different format due to the increase of two new teams, making a total of eight countries being represented in the most important Latin American baseball tournament.

The 65th edition of the Caribbean Series will feature teams from Venezuela, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, Mexico, Colombia, Panama, Cuba and Curacao and it will be played from 2-10 February.

2023 Caribbean Series teams

There are seven teams qualified for the 2023 Caribbean Series, and only the Venezuelan representative is yet to be determined.

Leones del Caracas have a 3-2 advantage over the Tiburones de La Guaira and this Monday they will have the chance to win the series and clinch the Venezuelan title on home soul.

These rest of the participants in the tournament are as follows:

  • Tigres del Licey (Dominican Republic)
  • Indios de Mayaguez (Puerto Rico)
  • Caneros de Los Mochis (Mexico)
  • Vaqueros de Monteria (Colombia)
  • Federales de Chiriqui (Panama)
  • Agricultores (Cuba)
  • Wildcats KJ74 (Curacao)
  • Leones del Caracas or Tiburones de La Guaira (Venezuela)

Why isn’t the USA represented in the Caribbean World Series?

The Caribbean Series was an idea conceived by two Venezuelan entrepreneurs, Oscar Prieto and Pablo Morales.

Together, the duo devised an annual tournament featuring teams from four Latin American countries, each of which would host the matches on a rotational basis.

Thus, from its very conception and, as its name indicates, the tournament was created with only Latin countries located in the Caribbean in mind.

For this reason, no team from the United States of America has ever been invited into the competition.