FIFA announce six nominees for The Best Women’s Coach award 2022

FIFA have announced a six-person shortlist for the Best Women’s Coach award 2022.

The shortlist is based on performances between 7 August 2021 and 31 July 2022, and was compiled by FIFA.

The winners will be voted for by the current coaches of all women’s national teams, the current captains of all women’s national teams , one journalist from each territory and an online fan vote.

Having guided the Lionesses to their maiden piece of silverware after just 11 months in the hot seat, England’s Euro 2022 winning boss Sarina Wiegman is among the nominess.

She is joined on the shortlist by the manager in the opposition dugout at Wembley in the European Championship final, Germany’s Martina Voss-Tecklenburg.

Pia Sundhage also guided her team to major tournament success this year after leading Brazil to the 2022 Copa America Femenina title, and she has been recognised on the shortlist.

The final international manager to be nominated is Canada boss Bev Priestman, after guiding her side to the Concacaf W Championship final, where they were beaten by the USWNT.

Having wrestled back the Division One Feminine and Champions League titles during her debut season in charge, Lyon boss Sonia Bompastor is one of two club managers nominated for the award.

She is joined by Chelsea’s Emma Hayes, who guided the Blues to a domestic double and unprecedented third consecutive WSL title during the 2021/22 campaign.

Voting will run from 12 January until 3 February. Media representatives, national coaches, national captains and fans will all get 25% of the vote, with polls open on FIFA’s website.