Full Moon Calendar 2023: Which days will have a full moon in 2023?

This 2023 we will witness several astronomical phenomena and, undoubtedly, one of the favorites is the full moon.

How does a full Moon occur?

The Moon is behind the Earth with respect to the Sun and its face is fully illuminated. It occurs approximately once a month or, on average, 29.53 days.

In this 2023 there will be 13 full moons with one full moon per month except one and three full moons per season.

Dates of the Full Moons of 2023

The website fullmoonology.com provides the exact dates when we will see the moon in all its splendor, so that those who love to look at the sky will not miss any detail.

January 6, 2023 (Full Wolf Moon)

The January 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Wolf Moon, will be visible on January 6, 2023 at 6:08 p.m. EST or 11:08 p.m. UTC. This will be the first full moon of the 2022-2023 winter season.

The January full moon will be the full moon in Cancer.

February 5, 2023 (Full Snow Moon)

In February, the Full Moon will also be known as the Full Snow Moon and will occur on Sunday, February 5 at 1:29 p.m. EST or 6:29 p.m. UTC. This will be the second full moon of the 2022-2023 winter season. February’s full moon will be the full moon in Leo.

March 7, 2023 (Full Worm Moon)

In March, the Full Moon will also be known as the Full Worm Moon and will occur on Tuesday, March 7 at 7:40 a.m. EST or 12:40 p.m. UTC. It will be the full moon in Virgo.

While the vernal equinox will be on March 20 at 5:25 p.m. EDT or 10:25 p.m. UTC, a couple of weeks after the March full moon.

April 6, 2023 (Full Pink Moon)

In April, the Full Moon will also be called the Full Pink Moon, it will be on Thursday, April 6 at 12:34 a.m. EDT or 5:34 a.m. UTC. This will be the first Full Moon of the 2023 spring season. This month’s full moon will be the full moon in Libra.

May 5, 2023 (Full Flower Moon)

It will also be known as the Full Moon of Flowers and will occur on Friday, May 5 at 1:34 p.m. EDT or 6:34 p.m. UTC. The May Full Moon will be the full moon in Scorpio.

In addition, there will be a penumbral lunar eclipse this month at the same time as the Full Moon, technically nine minutes before the peak of the Full Moon.

June 3, 2023 (Full Strawberry Moon)

The full Moon will also be known as the Full Strawberry Moon and will take place on June 3 at 11:42 p.m. EDT or June 4, 2023 at 4:42 a.m. UTC. The June full moon will be the full moon in Sagittarius.

The summer solstice is on the calendar for June 21, 2023 at 10:58 a.m. EDT or 3:58 p.m. UTC.

July 3, 2023 (Full Buck Moon)

In July, the full moon will be called Full Buck Moon and will occur on Monday, July 3, 2023 at 7:39 a.m. EDT or 12:39 p.m. UTC. It will be the first of the 2023 summer season and will be the full moon in Capricorn.

August 1, 2023 (Sturgeon Full Moon – Supermoon)

On Tuesday, August 1, the astronomical phenomenon that will also be known as the Full Sturgeon Moon will occur on Tuesday, August 1, 2023 at 2:31 p.m. EDT or 7:31 p.m. UTC.

It will be one of two supermoons in 2023 and the Full Moon in Aquarius.

August 30, 2023 (Full Blue Moon)

There will be a Full Blue Moon on Wednesday, August 30, 2023 at 9:35 p.m. EDT or August 31, 2023 at 2:35 a.m. UTC. It will be the second of two supermoons in 2023 and will be the full moon in Pisces.

This moon is called a blue full moon because it is the second full moon in a calendar month. It could also be called a blue supermoon because the second full moon in August will also be a supermoon.

September 29, 2023 (Full Harvest Moon)

In September the full moon will also be known as the Full Harvest Moon and will occur on Friday, September 29, 2023 at 5:57 AM EDT or 10:57 AM UTC. The September Full Moon will be the full moon in Aries.

In addition, there will be a penumbral lunar eclipse at the same time as the Full Moon, technically 10 minutes before the peak of the Full Moon.

The autumnal equinox is on the calendar for September 23, 2023 at 2:50 a.m. EDT or 7:50 a.m. UTC. Since the September full moon will be closer to the autumnal equinox than the October full moon, it will be called a harvest full moon, the website notes.

October 28, 2023 (Full Hunter’s Moon)

In October, this phenomenon will also be called the Full Hunter’s Moon, it will pass on Saturday, October 28, 2023 at 4:24 p.m. EDT or 9:24 p.m. UTC. The October Full Moon will be the full moon in Taurus.

November 27, 2023 (Beaver Full Moon)

November 27 will be the Moon also called the Beaver Full Moon, it will be seen at 4:16 a.m. EST or 9:16 a.m. UTC… November’s Full Moon will be the Full Moon in Gemini.

December 26, 2023 (Cold Full Moon)

The also called the Full Cold Moon will occur on Tuesday, December 26 at 7:33 p.m. EST or December 27, 2023 at 12:33 a.m. UTC. It will be the first full moon of the 2023-2024 winter season as the first full moon after the winter solstice. And it will be the full moon in Cancer.

While the winter solstice is on the calendar for December 21, 2023 at 10:28 p.m. EST or December 22, 2023 at 3:28 a.m. UTC.