Lawson claims Yas Marina sprint race victory after F1 practice run · RaceFans

Red Bull-backed junior driver Liam Lawson won the Formula 2 sprint race at the Yas Marina circuit, after stepping in for Max Verstappen in Friday’s first F1 practice session.

Richard Verschoor had taken partially-reversed-grid pole for the sprint race, Lawson sharing the front row with him after the two had set identical qualifying times. Amaury Cordeel and Dennis Hauger completed the second row while Williams junior Logan Sargeant, competing for his super licence, started fifth alongside Jack Doohan, the driver closest to him in the standings.

At the start, Verschoor kept the lead into turn one, with those at the front slotting neatly behind each other. However, the race was interrupted when Enzo Fittipaldi and Jehan Daruvala crashed into the barriers on the exit of turn two. By the time the pack reached turn six, a red flag was shown due to the extensive barrier repairs needed.

Both drivers were able to climb out of their cars, Daruvala with some assistance after his car embedded heavily in tecpro. After a lengthy stoppage for repairs, the race resumed with a rolling start, Verschoor holding the lead cleanly at the restart.

On lap ten, Lawson took the lead after Verschoor was seemingly caught unaware through turn six. Champion Felipe Drugovich claimed fourth position from Hauger on the opening corner of lap 17, as drivers started to visibly struggle with tyres, Cordeel sliding over the kerb ahead of the pair.

By lap 20, Lawson had drawn out more than a four-second lead, while Drugovich had moved to menacing Crodeel for third. Drugovich took the final podium spot through turn six on lap 21, Cordeel fighting back but unable to reclaim the place.

Lawson’s lead was over six seconds on the penultimate lap, while Hauger went off-track at turn six, attempting to overtake Cordeel for fourth. He surrendered the place back to Cordeel without letting Sargeant or Doohan through behind.

Drugovich was warned about track limits on the final lap as drivers began to struggle to control their cars on degrading tyres.

Hauger managed to take fourth from Cordeel through turn nine, as Lawson crossed the chequered flag to claim his fourth victory of the year. Verschoor and Drugovich completed the podium, with Sargeant’s sixth-place finish ahead of Doohan keeping him comfortably in line for his superlicense and 2023 Williams drive.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 2 Yas Marina race one results

Position Car Driver Team
1 5 Liam Lawson Carlin
2 20 Richard Verschoor Trident
3 11 Felipe Drugovich MP
4 1 Dennis Hauger Prema
5 25 Amaury Cordeel Van Amersfoort
6 6 Logan Sargeant Carlin
7 3 Jack Doohan Virtuosi
8 16 Roy Nissany DAMS
9 10 Theo Pourchaire ART
10 7 Marcus Armstrong Hitech
11 9 Frederik Vesti ART
12 8 Juri Vips Hitech
13 17 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS
14 12 Clement Novalak MP
15 24 Juan Manuel Correa Van Amersfoort
16 21 Zane Maloney Trident
17 14 Olli Caldwell Campos
18 15 Ralph Boschung Campos
19 4 Marino Sato Virtuosi
20 23 Tatiana Calderon Charouz
DNF 2 Jehan Daruvala Prema
DNF Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 2

Browse all Formula 2 articles