World Cup 2022: Qatar 2022 World Cup: When it kicks off, teams, groups, schedule and fixtures

The countdown to the Qatar 2022 World Cup is on. On November 20, the ball will start rolling in the opening match between hosts Qatar and Ecuador. So, get out your pen and paper, because here you have all the information you need to make sure you don’t miss out on this great football event.

The World Cup in Qatar will kick off on Sunday at 10:00 Eastern Time with the first match between Qatar and Ecuador. From there, 63 more matches will be played over 28 days. The final will be on December 18.

World Cup 2022 groups

Group A

  • Qatar
  • Netherlands
  • Senegal
  • Ecuador

Group B

  • England
  • United States
  • Iran
  • Wales

Group C

  • Argentina
  • Mexico
  • Poland
  • Saudi Arabia

Group D

  • France
  • Denmark
  • Tunisia
  • Australia

Group E

  • Spain
  • Germany
  • Japan
  • Costa Rica

Group F

  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Morocco
  • Canada

Group G

  • Brazil
  • Switzerland
  • Serbia
  • Cameroon

Group H

  • Portugal
  • Uruguay
  • South Korea
  • Ghana

Schedule and matches: World Cup 2022

GROUP A

Inaugural match: November 20

  • Qatar-Ecuador ET: 11:00/CT: 10:00/PT: 8:00

Matchday 1: November 21

  • Senegal-Netherlands ET: 11:00/CT: 10:00/PT: 8:00

Matchday 2: November 25

  • Qatar-Senegal ET: 8:00/CT: 7:00/PT: 5:00
  • Ecuador-Netherlands ET: 11:00/CT: 10:00/PT: 8:00

Matchday 3: November 29

  • Qatar-Netherlands ET: 10:00/CT: 9:00/PT: 7:00
  • Ecuador-Senegal ET: 10:00/CT: 9:00/PT: 7:00

GROUP B

Matchday 1: November 21

  • England-Iran ET: 8:00/CT: 7:00/PT: 5:00
  • USA-Wales ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00

Matchday 2: November 25

  • Wales-Iran ET: 5:00/CT: 4:00/PT: 2:00
  • England-USA ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00

Matchday 3: November 29

  • England-Wales ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00
  • Iran-USA ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00

GROUP C

Matchday 1: November 22

  • Argentina-Saudi Arabia ET: 5:00/CT: 4:00/PT: 2:00
  • Mexico-Poland ET: 11:00/CT: 10:00/PT: 8:00

Matchday 2: November 26

  • Argentina-Mexico ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00
  • Saudi Arabia-Poland ET: 8:00/CT: 7:00/PT: 5:00

Matchday 3: November 30

  • Argentina-Poland ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00
  • Saudi Arabia-Mexico ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00

GRUPO D

Matchday 1: November 22

  • France-Australia ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00
  • Denmark-Tunisia ET: 8:00/CT: 7:00/PT: 5:00

Matchday 2: November 26

  • France-Denmark ET: 11:00/CT: 10:00/PT: 8:00
  • Australia-Tunisia ET: 5:00/CT: 4:00/PT: 2:00

Matchday 3: November 30

  • France-Tunisia ET: 10:00/CT: 9:00/PT: 7:00
  • Australia-Denmark ET: 10:00/CT: 9:00/PT: 7:00

GROUP E

Matchday 1: November 23

  • Spain-Costa Rica ET: 11:00/CT: 10:00/PT: 8:00
  • Germany-Japan ET: 8:00/CT: 7:00/PT: 5:00

Matchday 2: November 27

  • Spain-Germany ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00
  • Costa Rica-Japan ET: 5:00/CT: 4:00/PT: 2:00

Matchday 3: December 1

  • Spain-Japan ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00
  • Costa Rica-Germany ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00

GRUPO F

Matchday 1: November 23

  • Belgium-Canada ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00
  • Morocco-Croatia ET: 5:00/CT: 4:00/PT: 2:00

Matchday 2: November 27

  • Belgium-Morocco ET: 8:00/CT: 7:00/PT: 5:00
  • Canada-Croatia ET: 11:00/CT: 10:00/PT: 8:00

Matchday 3: December 1

  • Belgium-Croatia ET: 10:00/CT: 9:00/PT: 7:00
  • Canada-Morocco ET: 10:00/CT: 9:00/PT: 7:00

GROUP G

Matchday 1: November 24

  • Brazil-Serbia ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00
  • Switzerland-Cameroon ET: 5:00/CT: 4:00/PT: 2:00

Matchday 2: November 28

  • Brazil-Switzerland ET: 11:00/CT: 10:00/PT: 8:00
  • Serbia-Cameroon ET: 5:00/CT: 4:00/PT: 2:00

Matchday 3: December 2

  • Brasil-Camern ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00
  • Suiza-Serbia ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00

GROUP H

Matchday 1: November 24

  • Portugal-Ghana ET: 11:00/CT: 10:00/PT: 8:00
  • Uruguay-South Korea ET: 8:00/CT: 7:00/PT: 5:00

Matchday 2: November 28

  • Portugal-Uruguay ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00
  • Ghana-South Korea ET: 8:00/CT: 7:00/PT: 5:00

Matchday 3: December 2

  • Portugal-South Korea ET: 10:00/CT: 9:00/PT: 7:00
  • Ghana-Uruguay ET: 10:00/CT: 9:00/PT: 7:00

ROUND OF 16

December 3

  • Round of 16 1: Group A winners vs Group B runners-up ET: 10:00/CT: 9:00/PT: 7:00
  • Round of 16 2: Group C winners vs Group D runners-up ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00

December 4

  • Round of 16 5: Group A runners-up vs Group B winners ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00
  • Round of 16 6: Group C runners-up vs Group D winners ET: 10:00/CT: 9:00/PT: 7:00

December 5

  • Round of 16 3: Group E winners vs Group F runners-up ET: 10:00/CT: 9:00/PT: 7:00
  • Round of 16 4: Group G winners vs Group H runners-up ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00

December 6

  • Round of 16 7: Group E runners-up vs Group F winners ET: 10:00/CT: 9:00/PT: 7:00
  • Round of 16 8: Group G runners-up vs Group H winners ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00

QUARTER FINALS

December 9

  • Quarter final 1: Round of 16 1 vs Round of 16 2 – ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00
  • Quarter final 2: Round of 16 3 vs Round of 16 4 – ET: 10:00/CT: 9:00/PT: 7:00

December 10

  • Quarter final 3: Round of 16 5 vs Round of 16 6 – ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00
  • Quarter final 4: Round of 16 7 vs Round of 16 8 – ET: 10:00/CT: 9:00/PT: 7:00

SEMI FINALS

December 13

  • Semi final 1: Quarter final 1 vs Quarter final 2 – ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00

December 14

  • Semi final 2: Quarter final 3 vs Quarter final 4 – ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00

THIRD AND FOURTH PLACE PLAYOFF

December 17

  • Loser of semi final 1 vs Loser of semi final 2 – ET: 10:00/CT: 9:00/PT: 7:00

FINAL

December 18

  • Winner of semi final 1 vs Winner of semi final 2 – ET: 14:00/CT: 13:00/PT: 11:00