Tennis: Federer/Nadal vs Sock/Tiafoe: What time is Federer’s final match? Where can you watch it?

Tennis great Roger Federer will team up with long-time friend and rival Rafael Nadal for his final match as a professional on Friday.

The pair will take the court at the O2 Arena in the Laver Cup, an all-star end-of-season competition described as “our Ryder Cup” by Novak Djokovic. The pair will compete for Team Europe in a doubles match against Jack Sock and Frances Tiafoe.

Tiafoe is a late replacement for John Isner and sits 19th in the rankings, while Sock is ranked 128th in the world, but their combined age is 23 years younger than their European opponents.

When and where is Federer’s final match?

The match is on Friday’s evening session, which starts at 19:00 BST in the UK. That’s 20:00 CEST in western Europe or 14:00 ET on the east coast of the USA.

First up, it’s Andy Murray against the Australian Alex de Minaur and, given that each match is two sets plus a 10-point tiebreaker if needed, the doubles event could commence between 20:00 BST and 21:00 BST in the UK.

How can you watch Federer’s final match?

In the UK, Eurosport is covering the event, which also sees home favourite Cameron Norrie join Murray in representing Europe and the UK.

Eurosport also has the rights for most of the continent including Spain, Italy, Germany and Switzerland, while beIN Sports has the rights in France. For American viewers, coverage is on the Tennis Channel.

Things aren’t so sunny for Australian fans, though. The event kicks off at 02:00 in Perth and 04:00 in Sydney, being shown on Stan Sport.

What has Federer said about his final match?

Federer hasn’t exactly promised the world for his final match. He predicted an “acceptable level” of play in a press conference, but said it was a dream to play alongside Nadal.

However, he could take inspiration from his own retirement message.

“Dream big and try hard,” Federer said on Wednesday.

“Everything is possible. If you dream very small, you are going to achieve very small. You’ve got to keep believing that it’s going to happen.

“Listen to your parents, coaches and teachers. I try to explain that every day to my children.”