Noah Gragson wraps up Xfinity regular season with third straight

A.J. Allmendinger might have won his second straight NASCAR Xfinity Series regular season championship at Bristol Motor Speedway, but Noah Gragson got to puke for the third race in a row (which isn’t a good thing, even if it came in response to a good thing).

Much like how Ty Majeski won the Truck Series race the previous day, Gragson did not lead any laps until the final restart with twenty laps remaining set up by a caution involving his team-mate and a slower car (in Gragson’s case, JR Motorsports ally Justin Allgaier made contact with J.J. Yeley which shot the latter into the wall). Gragson would hold off Brandon Jones to win his third straight race; he is the first driver to achieve the feat since Austin Cindric swept the Kentucky doubleheader and won Texas in 2020, but the first to do so in three separate weeks and locations since Christopher Bell at Kentucky, Loudon, and Iowa in 2018.

“That last caution came out, and I knew if I could ring the top, it was going to be hard for them to get there,” commented Gragson. “I appreciate Brandon Jones racing us clean. He gave us the bumper with two (laps) to go, and I was hanging on, scrubbing the fence.”

Prior to the caution, Allgaier dominated the affair by winning Stage #2 and leading 148 laps. However, while he avoided damage in the Yeley incident, he was caught speeding on pit road which dealt the death blow to his chances.

Gragson did not have a totally clean journey to Victory Lane either. On lap 150, a battle for the lead led to Gragson clipping Stage #1 winner Ty Gibbs which sent him into Sheldon Creed, who needed to win to qualify for the playoffs and whom Gragson defeated at Darlington two weeks prior.

“If it was God’s plan for us to win tonight, we would’ve,” said Gibbs. “I feel like the guys made a really good progress over the last year from this car, from what we had last year. I felt like we were a little off last race here last September. We came back and I feel like we were one of the fastest, so very thankful for that.”

Race results

Finish Start Number Driver Team Manufacturer Laps Status
1 9 9 Noah Gragson JR Motorsports Chevrolet 300 Running
2 11 19 Brandon Jones Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 300 Running
3 15 21 Austin Hill Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 300 Running
4 5 1 Sam Mayer JR Motorsports Chevrolet 300 Running
5 12 98 Riley Herbst Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 300 Running
6 4 16 A.J. Allmendinger Kaulig Racing Chevrolet 300 Running
7 2 8 Josh Berry JR Motorsports Chevrolet 300 Running
8 14 45 Stefan Parsons* Alpha Prime Racing Chevrolet 300 Running
9 3 7 Justin Allgaier JR Motorsports Chevrolet 300 Running
10 10 39 Ryan Sieg RSS Racing Ford 300 Running
11 20 4 Bayley Currey JD Motorsports Chevrolet 300 Running
12 21 26 Jeffrey Earnhardt Sam Hunt Racing Toyota 300 Running
13 18 23 Anthony Alfredo Our Motorsports Chevrolet 300 Running
14 6 18 Sammy Smith^ Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 299 Running
15 7 27 Jeb Burton Our Motorsports Chevrolet 299 Running
16 19 51 Jeremy Clements Jeremy Clements Racing Chevrolet 299 Running
17 33 34 Kyle Weatherman Jesse Iwuji Motorsports Chevrolet 299 Running
18 31 02 Sage Karam Our Motorsports Chevrolet 299 Running
19 28 44 Ryan Ellis Alpha Prime Racing Chevrolet 299 Running
20 8 11 Daniel Hemric Kaulig Racing Chevrolet 298 Running
21 30 92 Josh Williams DGM Racing Chevrolet 298 Running
22 36 31 Myatt Snider Jordan Anderson Racing Chevrolet 298 Running
23 37 07 Joe Graf Jr. SS-Green Light Racing Ford 298 Running
24 35 38 C.J. McLaughlin RSS Racing Ford 297 Running
25 34 68 Kris Wright* Brandonbilt Motorsports Chevrolet 297 Running
26 25 36 Alex Labbé DGM Racing Chevrolet 297 Running
27 23 35 Patrick Emerling Emerling-Gase Motorsports Chevrolet 294 Running
28 32 77 Ronnie Bassett Jr. Bassett Racing Chevrolet 294 Running
29 24 48 Nicholas Sanchez Big Machine Racing Team Chevrolet 294 Running
30 27 08 David Starr SS-Green Light Racing Ford 293 Running
31 38 6 Bobby McCarty JD Motorsports Chevrolet 288 Running
32 17 91 Mason Massey DGM Racing Chevrolet 271 Oil Line
33 26 66 J.J. Yeley MBM Motorsports Toyota 267 Accident
34 29 78 B.J. McLeod B.J. McLeod Motorsports Chevrolet 220 Brakes
35 16 10 Landon Cassill Kaulig Racing Chevrolet 188 Running
36 1 54 Ty Gibbs Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 129 Accident
37 22 2 Sheldon Creed Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 128 Accident
38 13 5 Brandon Brown B.J. McLeod Motorsports Chevrolet 45 Accident
DNQ 52 Brennan Poole* Jimmy Means Racing Chevrolet
DNQ 13 Chad Finchum MBM Motorsports Toyota
DNQ 47 Dawson Cram Mike Harmon Racing Chevrolet
Bold – Currently in playoffs
^ – Currently in owner playoffs
Underline – Eliminated from playoffs
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Year
* – Ineligible for points