When & where is the Women’s World Cup 2023?

The 2023 edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup will take place this summer.

One year on from a record-breaking Euro 2022 put on by UEFA, the women’s game is going global again and looking to further capitalise on that wave of growth.

In 2019, the United States won their second successive World Cup and fourth overall. But, with that American generation largely replaced by a fresh new team, and more countries now than ever before that could be considered genuine contenders, it promises to be hugely exciting as it unfolds.

The 2023 Women’s World Cup will run from 20 July when the first group games are played, until the day of the final a month later on 20 August.

The very first game will be New Zealand vs Norway, with Australia to face the Republic of Ireland later that same day. The group stage, after which 32 teams will be whittled down to 16, will conclude on 3 August, with the knockout rounds to begin with a last 16 on 5 August.

Read the latest Women’s World Cup news here

The 2023 Women’s World Cup will be co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand, making it the first in the women’s game to be held across two nations, as well as the first for women to be played in the southern hemisphere, and the first for either men or women to have a foot in two different FIFA confederations: AFC (Australia) and OFC (New Zealand).

In the early stages of host selection, there was plenty of interest, including from North Korea as part of a potential joint bid with South Korea. In the end, there were four formal bids for the tournament, with Brazil, Japan and Colombia all submitting official bid books to FIFA at that stage of the process. However, Brazil and Japan each pulled out before the final vote to decide the 2023 hosts.

The joint bid from Australia and New Zealand received 22 votes from the FIFA Council when ballots were cast in June 2020, compared to 13 that went to Colombia.

China was the first country to host a Women’s World Cup tournament back in 1991, while they are the United States are the only nations to have hosted two tournaments.

Only the United States have ever won the World Cup as hosts, with their famous triumph in 1999 – Brandi Chastain’s winning penalty and iconic celebration et al.

World Cup

Host nation(s)






United States


United States










Australia/New Zealand

The bidding process for the 2027 Women’s World Cup is also already underway. The deadline for expression of interest passed in April 2023, with Brazil and South Africa each submitting their expression of interest as single hosts. There is also interest from the United States and Mexico in a joint bid, as well as in a triple northern European bid from Germany, Belgium and Netherlands.