The Best FIFA Football Awards 2022: Full winners list

The Best FIFA Football Awards is FIFA’s flagship award ceremony used to recognise the best players and achievements in world football each year.

The nominations have been whittled down and superstars from the game will be celebrated on Monday night with awards for achievements in men’s and women’s football.

As we look ahead to the awards night, here’s who is up for the coveted gongs.

FIFA will be streaming the ceremony live on their website – – and their YouTube channel. Viewers from the United Kingdom are able to watch the festivities on the BBC red button and BBC iPlayer.

Lionel Mess

Messi is the major favourite in the men’s category / Richard Sellers/GettyImages

The three greatest players in men’s world football are duking it out for the main prize.

Lionel Messi is the overwhelming favourite having guided Argentina to World Cup glory in late 2022. His form with club side Paris Saint-Germain has also improved after a tough first season with the French giants.

PSG teammate Kylian Mbappe, who brought France back into the World Cup final with a hat trick before their penalty shootout defeat, is also up for the award.

Karim Benzema led Real Madrid to another incredible Champions League triumph last season alongside their La Liga title win and is another well deserving of the award should he win.

Alexia Putellas

Putellas could take the women’s award / Quality Sport Images/GettyImages

Another brilliant season with Barcelona could be enough to earn Alexia Putellas her second consecutive FIFA Women’s Player award. They were dominant in the Primera Division and also she scored in the 3-1 Champions League final defeat to Lyon.

If the injury suffered before Euro 2022 harms her chances, Beth Mead could claim the award. The Arsenal forward’s performances during that tournament led England to victory and also saw her named BBC Sports Personality of the Year.

Alex Morgan has not won the prize previously, finishing four votes behind compatriot Megan Rapinoe in the 2019 edition.

Yassine Bounou

Bono starred at the World Cup / Richard Sellers/GettyImages

Yassine Bounou – otherwise known as Bono – was one of Morocco’s star players at the 2022 World Cup, producing heroic performances between the sticks as the Atlas Lions reached the semi finals.

He is the underdog in this category, however. Thibaut Courtois saved Real Madrid’s skin on multiple occasions as they won the World Cup, while Emiliano Martinez’s gamesmanship proved pivotal in Argentina lifting the World Cup trophy.

Ann-Katrin Berger starred as Germany reached the Euro 2022 final, having been re-diagnosed with thyroid cancer during the tournament. She returned for Chelsea in September 2022 and was a pivotal figure in their successes during the 2021/22 season.

Mary Earps has established herself as England’s number one and was dominant during Euro 2022. She also played a major role in Manchester United’s recent emergence under Marc Skinner.

Christiane Endler won the award last year and has enjoyed more trophy-laden days since then with Lyon, being named in the team of the year for both the Champions League and France’s top division.

Carlo Ancelotti

Ancelotti led Real to another Champions League triumph / Eurasia Sport Images/GettyImages

The men’s manager nominations are once again dominated by Champions League and World Cup victors.

Manchester City’s Pep Guardiola is on the shortlist for guiding them to another Premier League title, but one of Carlo Ancelotti or Lionel Scaloni seem more likely to claim the prize for their efforts in Europe and Qatar respectively.

Sarina Wiegman

Wiegman led England to glory at Euro 2022 / James Gill – Danehouse/GettyImages

Two-time winner Sarina Wiegman is the favourite in the women’s coach category. The Dutch manager helped England’s talents flourish during the victorious Euro 2022 campaign, playing some attacking football alongside more gutsy wins over Spain and Germany.

However, Pia Sundhage led Brazil to Copa America Feminina glory in 2022 and Sonia Bompastor guided Lyon to a French league title and Women’s Champions League double in her first full season as manager, so field is filled with potential winners.

Polish amputee player Marcin Oleksy produced an incredible scissor kick for Warta Poznan and received a message of congratulations from Robert Lewandowski shortly afterwards.

Dimitri Payet displayed impeccable technique against PAOK Thessaloniki to fire in an incredible half-volley from the edge of the box, while an incredible effort from Richarlison for Brazil at the World Cup sees the Spurs forward nominated.