Production Alliance Group 300 moved to Sunday due to rain

The final NASCAR race on Auto Club Speedway‘s two-mile configuration will be the Xfinity Series. The Production Alliance Group 300 was initially to take place on Saturday, but rain during pace laps forced the race to be postponed to Sunday at 5 PM Pacific, following the Cup SeriesPala Casino 400.

Auto Club and the state of California have undergone a rather bizarre weather wave in recent days as days of typical sunshine interspersed with rain, wind, and even snow. Los Angeles County, near where the speedway is located, received a blizzard warning on Friday for the first time since 1989. Snow fell on the track on Saturday morning, much to the bewilderment of those in the garage, before seemingly subsiding in time for the race to start. However, rain arrived following the command to fire engines and NASCAR lost the track in the middle of formation laps.

The weather forced qualifying for both the Xfinity and Cup races to be cancelled. Using the metric-based formula introduced in 2020, Austin Hill will start on the pole ahead of John Hunter Nemechek as the two finished 1–2 in last week’s season opener at Daytona. Christopher Bell will be the pole-sitter for the Pala Casino 400 alongside Daytona 500 winner Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

With the Xfinity race taking place after Cup, NASCAR’s second tier will bow out Fontana’s era as an intermediate oval before beginning its transformation into a half-mile short track. A report from the Sports Business Journal on Friday revealed NASCAR had sold off 433 of 522 acres of land on the speedway property, virtually sealing the track’s fate despite varying protests from fans and drivers. The track was removed from the 2024 schedule to make way for the reconfiguration.

Starting lineup

Position Number Driver Team Manufacturer
1 21 Austin Hill Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet
2 20 John Hunter Nemechek Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
3 7 Justin Allgaier JR Motorsports Chevrolet
4 31 Parker Retzlaff Jordan Anderson Racing Chevrolet
5 16 Chandler Smith Kaulig Racing Chevrolet
6 98 Riley Herbst Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
7 27 Jeb Burton Jordan Anderson Racing Chevrolet
8 00 Cole Custer Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
9 92 Josh Williams DGM Racing Chevrolet
10 9 Brandon Jones JR Motorsports Chevrolet
11 51 Jeremy Clements Jeremy Clements Racing Chevrolet
12 8 Gray Gaulding JR Motorsports Chevrolet
13 18 Sammy Smith Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
14 19 Joe Graf Jr. Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
15 10 Austin Dillon* Kaulig Racing Chevrolet
16 39 Ryan Sieg RSS Racing Ford
17 78 Anthony Alfredo B.J. McLeod Motorsports Chevrolet
18 38 Kyle Sieg RSS Racing Ford
19 8 Josh Berry JR Motorsports Chevrolet
20 45 Rajah Caruth* Alpha Prime Racing Chevrolet
21 02 David Starr Our Motorsports Chevrolet
22 1 Sam Mayer JR Motorsports Chevrolet
23 48 Parker Kligerman Big Machine Racing Team Chevrolet
24 24 Tyler Reddick* Sam Hunt Racing Toyota
25 25 Brett Moffitt AM Racing Ford
26 44 Jeffrey Earnhardt Alpha Prime Racing Chevrolet
27 53 C.J. McLaughlin Emerling-Gase Motorsports Chevrolet
28 28 Alex Labbé RSS Racing Ford
29 26 Kaz Grala Sam Hunt Racing Toyota
30 6 Brennan Poole JD Motorsports Chevrolet
31 2 Sheldon Creed Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet
32 43 Ryan Ellis Alpha Prime Racing Chevrolet
33 07 Blaine Perkins SS-Green Light Racing Ford
34 35 Joey Gase Emerling-Gase Motorsports Toyota
35 11 Daniel Hemric Kaulig Racing Chevrolet
36 4 Bayley Currey JD Motorsports Chevrolet
37 66 Timmy Hill* MBM Motorsports Ford
38 91 Ross Chastain* DGM Racing Chevrolet
DNQ 99 Garrett Smithey B.J. McLeod Motorsports Chevrolet
DNQ 74 Ryan Vargas CHK Racing Chevrolet
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Year
* – Ineligible for points