MLS reveals new playoff format for 2023 season

Major League Soccer revealed a new format and schedule for the 2023 playoffs.

The new system will see the top seven teams from each conference automatically qualify to the Round One Best-of-3 series following Decision Day on October 21, while teams ranked from seventh to ninth compete in a single-elimination playoffs Wild Card match.

The winners of each Wild Card game will earn a spot in the Round One Best-of-3 series.

The upcoming edition of the postseason will see up-to 24 must-win matches ahead of the 2023 MLS Cup, compared with just 12 in 2022.


Wild Card Matches

Round One Best-of-3 Series

Conference Semifinals

Conference Final