When does MLS start?

There is a growing number of football fans both in the United States of America and abroad who have an interest in Major League Soccer (MLS) and the good news for them is that the new season is set to get underway soon.

The 2022 season ended in a thrilling manner and it was followed by the Qatar World Cup which saw another swell of interest within the United States around football. MLS clubs are hoping that the interest in the national team will trickle into the domestic game as the new season begins.

The first weekend should be a thriller with 13 games to get stuck into, so here is everything you need to know about the new campaign.

The MLS season is going to get underway on Saturday, February 25 and as mentioned, there will be 13 matches to enjoy. The Los Angeles derby is one of the games that fans can look forward to.

The regular season will come to an end on October 21 and then the playoffs will begin. It is not yet decided when they will start and finish.

MLS Week 1 fixtures


Start Time

Nashville SC vs NYCFC

16:30 ET / 13:30 PT

Philadelphia Union vs Columbus Crew

19:30 ET / 16:30 PT

FC Cincinnati vs Houston Dynamo

19:30 ET / 16:30 PT

Atlanta United vs San Jose Earthquakes

19:30 ET / 16:30 PT

Charlotte FC vs New England Revolution

19:30 ET / 16:30 PT

Orlando City vs NY Red Bulls

19:30 ET / 16:30 PT

D.C. United vs Toronto FC

19:30 ET / 16:30 PT

Inter Miami vs CF Montreal

19:30 ET / 16:30 PT

Austin FC vs St. Louis City FC

20:30 ET / 17:30 PT

FC Dallas vs Minnesota United

20:30 ET / 17:30 PT

LA Galaxy vs LAFC

21:30 ET / 18:30 PT

Vancouver Whitecaps vs Real Salt Lake

22:30 ET / 19:30 PT

Portland Timbers vs Sporting KC

22:30 ET / 19:30 PT

There are 29 clubs taking part in MLS in 2023 and they will all play 34 matches with the scheduling already confirmed by the league. The list of teams taking part can be seen below.

The 29 teams in MLS are geographically divided into Western and Eastern Conferences and they play every team in their conference home and away. There are 15 teams in the Eastern Conference so they have 28 games within their conference. They also then play one game against six different opponents from the Western Conference, giving another six games.

The 14 teams in the Western Conference all play each other twice, which is 26 games. They also then play one game against one or two opponents from their own conference, and then one game against six or seven opponents from the Eastern Conference.

The teams that finish top of each conference qualify for the Conference semi-finals. Those that finish 2nd-7th in each conference go into the first round of the playoffs, all aiming to reach the MLS Cup Final. The date for that final in 2023 is yet to be announced.

In order to watch MLS this season in the United Kingdom and in Canada, you will need an Apple TV subscription after they secured a new rights agreement.

In the United States of America, some of the games will be shown on cable TV via FOX and FS1. On the opening weekend in America, the one game broadcast on FOX will be Nashville SC vs NYCFC.

This season features an interruption that has not been seen before. For the first time ever, all 47 MLS and LIGA MX (Mexico) clubs will participate in a reimagined Leagues Cup. The MLS regular season will pause following the July 15 games for the Leagues Cup and will resume on August 20. 

The champions of MLS Cup in 2022 were Los Angeles FC. They topped the Western Conference and made it all the way to the final which took place at the Banc of California Stadium.

They faced Philadelphia Union and it was a very dramatic final. It featured the two latest goals to be scored in an MLS Cup Playoffs match as both Jack Elliott and Gareth Bale scoring in stoppage time, causing the game to end 3-3 after extra-time. LAFC won the subsequent penalty shoot-out 3-0.